Goodbye, Landmark.

I still remember walking into Landmark for the first time. It was the summer of 2003, a time when holidaying invariably brought my family to Chennai. For a 12-year-old with a new-found, voracious appetite for books, the store was a source of amazement. I gazed at the scores of books around, wondering if I would ever be able to read them all.

Years later, when I moved to the city for college, a lot of things had changed. Chennai had become my new home, and I had become older and stronger. My priorities had changed, so had my interests. However, the bookstore tucked away in a basement in Nungambakkam, and the things it did to me, had remained the same over the years.

My visits to Landmark gave me solace. Whether making a quick visit to buy a particular book, or strolling aimlessly amidst the bookshelves for hours, I have always been filled with a sense of comfort. Surrounded by books, pages and words, I have never felt lonely.

Now, word spreads that the store is all set to close down, and I am filled with nostalgia. Since I have, for quite some time now, moved on to ordering books online, I know that it is not shopping that I will miss. I will miss the tranquility, the cosiness, and the warmth that the store offers to me.

On my way back from work, I pass by Apex Plaza, and I contemplate stepping into the store for what may be the last time. I decide not to because I cannot bear to say goodbye – it makes me too sad.

I will always miss going down the flight of stairs to my favourite bookstore. Landmark was my happy place – where I may have wandered, but was never lost.

Leave a comment